Marc Jacobs Decadence Perfume Review

Marc Jacobs Decadence Perfume Review

My favourite fragrances to wear are deep, sensual and stand out.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; scent is so powerful because it has the ability to  create a lasting first impression and evoke memories.  The scent you choose to wear says so much about you and how you want others to perceive you.

The indulgent, sophisticated and sexy scent of the Marc Jacobs Decadence perfume embodies the power that I want possess.  Its a fragrance that I’ve worn since it was very first released and I’m now onto my second bottle.

Marc Jacobs Decadence Perfume Review

First things first, lets get the one negative out of the way; I cannot stand the garish handbag bottle.  I love the emerald green colour but the handbag shape with the python pattern on the lid, gold chain and black tassel is just far too OTT for me.  It is designed to symbolise opulence and glamour which I think the fragrance itself does and I can see where they were going with the bottle but in all honesty I think its just a little tacky.

The fragrance however, is INCREDIBLE.  With top notes of Italian Plum, Iris and Saffron, a heart of Bulgarian Rose, Jasmine Sambac and Orris and a base of Liquid Amber, Vetiver and Papyrus Woods, Decadence certainly lives up to its rich, elegant name.

Decadence is long lasting; I can spritz it onto my pulse points before I leave the house at work, enjoy compliments on it all day and still be able to smell it when I get changed as I return home.  That kind of longevity is precisely what I want from my perfume as I like to purchase the big bottles of fragrances and don’t like to take them out with me in my bag and there’s only so many Travalo perfume bottles one girl can have!

Marc Jacobs Decadence Perfume Review


The effect is far more mature than all of the other Marc Jacobs fragrances I’ve smelt and definitely my favourite of the bunch.  Its floral but on a much deeper level than you’d imagine because of the powdery woods and the mix of fragrance notes is really quite unique.

If I had to liken it to anything it would be the now discontinued Jo Malone Blue Agava and Cacao.  The only similarity between the notes is the vetiver but the air of the fragrance gives me the same feeling and sense of opulence when I smell it.  If you were as gutted as I was when Jo Malone took Blue Agava and Cacao off then shelves then do give this fragrance a try as it may bring back some memories of that delicious scent.

For those of you who love your memorable, sensual, sexy scents, this one is definitely for you!

SHOP THE POST

What do you think of the Marc Jacobs Decadence fragrance?  Do you love or dislike the bottle?  What is your favourite memorable or sexy perfume?

23 Comments

  1. Baby Isabella
    April 10, 2017 / 4:04 pm

    We love Dior Poison (the original in the green bottle) and this sounds like a similar feel and scent. Must give Marc Jacobs Decadence perfume a go!

  2. Joanna Davis
    April 10, 2017 / 5:42 pm

    I have never tried a Marc Jacobs perfume before, I am a fan of Lancome. I like your description and the floral notes combined with the woody scents makes it very intriguing. I will try it out next time I'll find myself in a duty free.

  3. Lauren Hodgson
    April 10, 2017 / 6:01 pm

    Ooo this looks lovely! I've never actually tried Marc Jacobs perfume but I've heard a lot of good things about it!

  4. Sarah-Louise Bailey
    April 10, 2017 / 6:10 pm

    The scent sounds very lovely. To be honest I am put off by the bottle as well. It is very over the top and garish.

  5. Hannah Latoya Bond
    April 10, 2017 / 9:02 pm

    I've never tried this fragrance before, it does sound very nice

  6. Joanna Victoria -x
    April 10, 2017 / 9:17 pm

    The fragrence sounds fab I have to agree with you about the bottle design though.

  7. Floral Danielle
    April 10, 2017 / 10:09 pm

    It's a shame you're not that keen on the packaging for this scent – I personally think it's gorgeous (I have such a thing for dark green at the moment!)The scent itself also sounds gorgeous :)Dani x

  8. theurbanrealist
    April 11, 2017 / 12:04 am

    I loveeeee Marc Jacobs perfumes! I'm unfamiliar with decadence but it sounds like the type of scent I would adore.

  9. Stephanie Merry
    April 11, 2017 / 8:59 am

    I love this fragrance as well! I mean I love most of the Marc Jacobs scents but this is probably my favourite one – it's gorgeous! x

  10. Dannii Martin
    April 11, 2017 / 9:51 am

    I always have a spray of MJ purfumes when I am in duty free. I need to actually buy some.

  11. Beautykinguk
    April 11, 2017 / 10:45 am

    I am usually a fan of Marc Jacobs scents, all but this one. There is a note somewhere which I am not a fan of, but I do think the packaging is genius!

  12. ana de jesus
    April 11, 2017 / 12:29 pm

    My favourite is floral, sweet scents but I do like sensual scents. I like the sound of decadence x

  13. Harriet Shearsmith
    April 11, 2017 / 1:43 pm

    Ohhh I quite like the packaging actually – I think it matches the name!

  14. Mummy's Monkey
    April 11, 2017 / 6:41 pm

    Sounds lovely although I'm with you on the bottle. The green is a gorgeous colour but the bag thing makes it look a bit tacky. Such a shame as I've heard great things about it.

  15. Tanya Brannan
    April 12, 2017 / 2:27 pm

    I have never even smelt this perfume but have lusted over it for the reasons you hate it, the handbag style bottle. I think it is so unusual and I love the colour, so I would love to have one on my dressing table even if I didn't like the smell!

  16. Melanie Williams
    April 12, 2017 / 2:52 pm

    This perfume sounds gorg. Love the packaging too. May have to go and get this 🙂 x

  17. Melanies Fab Finds
    April 12, 2017 / 5:28 pm

    I love the style of the bottle is looks so pretty. The fragrance itself sounds amazing!

  18. Shannon Ritchie
    April 12, 2017 / 5:35 pm

    I agree about the packaging, I thought it looked so sleek on the TV ads but I was not a fan when I saw it in person!

  19. Olivia
    April 12, 2017 / 9:23 pm

    I love this perfume it's amazing, I've got a really mini version from duty free, different to the rest of Marc Jacobs perfumes 🙂 x

  20. Dreamer.
    April 13, 2017 / 1:28 am

    I'm on the look out for a new scent! I agree with the bottle, it's a bit much… Samantha JL

  21. Annie B
    April 13, 2017 / 4:35 am

    I am a Marc Jacobs Daisy girl, which is my day perfume but this sounds like it could be my 'going out' choice!

  22. Lindsey Burton-Harrison
    April 14, 2017 / 5:43 am

    I have never tried this perfume before and I am dying too. I love the design of the bottle

  23. Laura Hartley
    April 15, 2017 / 7:18 pm

    Wow I would buy this just for the bottle alone! I am a huge Marc Jacobs fan 🙂

Leave a Reply